News

LIVE IN STP | 9/13: Pierce the Veil, Neck Deep, I Prevail

img_2857

photos by Hana Simons

review by Jessi

On September 13, 2016, Pierce the Veil’s The Made to Destroy tour made its stop at Myth Nightclub in Maplewood, Minnesota. This show was an explosion of tears, sweat and confetti. It was one for the books, from my four-hour wait in line until the last song.

The first opener of the tour was post-hardcore band, I Prevail. I had only heard a couple of songs from this band, but their whole set was mind blowing. The group is fantastic at making the crowd feel included in their songs. Let me tell you, the crowd went wild for them. Everyone adored their on-point break downs and sing alongs. This band is one you will definitely fall in love with if you’re into A Day to Remember. They have a similar style to them and that is a great thing if you ask me.

Next up was British pop-punk band, Neck Deep. This was my second time seeing Neck Deep so I knew already that they are part of the most memorable shows ever. Their stage set pieces were based off their album cover for Life’s Not Out to Get You. It felt like you were inside of the record, from matching beautiful banners to a huge sign of their logo above the drum kit. But, wait, that’s not all. Neck Deep has the most original and raw sound on the tour. Their fast drumming and thick pop-punk-esque voices just make them a band you simply can’t forget. Also, the fans in this crowd were some of the most enthused people I’ve ever seen at a show. The environment felt so connected while they played, and I really think anyone else on this tour in their place, just wouldn’t be the same.

Then finally… *drumroll* Pierce the Veil! The boys had a giant white flag above the barricade covering the stage and which, if you have seen PTV, this is iconic for them. Before they hit the stage, a beautiful intro based off of the Misadventures album artwork projected on the flag. And well, you can guess what happened next. *flag drops* *crowd begins to shriek*. Woah.

I don’t want to spoil too much of the show, because it surprised me and completely blew my expectations. They played a good mix of old and new songs. I lost my voice after singing along, word-for-word to every single song. This show also had tons of confetti, which once again, is very iconic for Pierce the Veil (they’re a little extra when it comes to explosions of colored paper).

As they wrapped up their encore I soaked up everything that had happened. It was the best concert I have been to in a long time. Don’t sleep on this tour or any of these bands at that. This show made a spot in my top 10 shows. I hope you make it out to your date of The Made to Destroy tour this year. And if you can’t make it, at least give every single fantastic band on this tour a cheeky listen.

Leave a comment